Did the minimum wage go up in your state?

As of January 1, 2012, eight states raised the minimum wage for workers – all eight have laws that increase the minimum wage at a rate tied to inflation. Click on your state to access the updated required posting.

Arizona – $7.65 per hour

Colorado – $7.64 per hour

Florida – $7.67 per hour

Montana – $7.65 per hour

Ohio – $7.70 per hour

Oregon – $8.80 per hour

Vermont – $8.46 per hour

Washington – $9.04 per hour (Washington no longer requires a minimum wage poster, but does still require the “Your Rights as a Worker” poster)

The federal minimum wage has not changed and remains at $7.25 per hour. Remember that if the state minimum wage is above the federal rate, you must pay workers the higher rate. A complete list of minimum wage rates for all states can be found at the U.S. Department of Labor.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s