Transition from peer to leader

When I was selected as captain of the kickball team in 5th grade gym class, the dynamic with my peers was instantly changed.  I was placed above them, and they seemed to resent me for it.  That having been said, I couldn’t even imagine managing employees who used to be my co-workers.

 

The article, “Five Ways to Go From Peer to Leader” explains the difficulties of such a transition – and gives some helpful tips on how to make it a smooth one, including:

 

  • how to discipline your “friends”
  • how to delegate to former peers
  • separating personal and professional relationships
  • how to deal with jealousy.

 

If you’re struggling with any of the above bullets, click here and read the article!

Leave a Reply

