Is napping on the job a good thing?

Try as I might, everyday between 1pm and 3pm, I hit a wall. I want to be focused. I have things to do. But I just can’t get my mind to grab hold of a task. If I have projects that need special attention, I make sure I do them in the morning when I’m at my sharpest. And that’s because our bodies crave rest after long periods of focused attention. The more hours you work, the greater the toll on your performance.

Tony Schwartz, a blogger for FastCompany.com, makes a bold statement in his article “Why Companies Should Make Employees Take Naps:”

Naps are a powerful source of competitive advantage.

Sounds crazy? I thought so. Naps are for pre-schoolers and lazy Saturday afternoons, not something you do at work. But Schwartz’s post discusses the findings of some scientific studies on attention and productivity that may get you thinking in a new direction. (Maybe.)

Is this the craziest thing you’ve ever heard? Or is there something valid here? Would companies benefit from allowing employees to take naps?

Check out the article by clicking here.

We’d love to hear your thoughts. You can post a comment below – it’s quick and easy.

One thought on “Is napping on the job a good thing?

Leave a Reply

